News Flash


Posted on: December 5, 2018

Paul Gilfillan Re-Elected Chief Judge

The Circuit Judges of the Tenth Judicial Circuit Court of Illinois have Re-Elected Paul Gilfillan as Chief Judge of the Circuit.  His second consecutive two year term will commence January 2019 and will run through December 2020.  There are 10 Circuit Judges in the Tenth Circuit whose duty is to elect a Chief Judge every two years.  There are a total of 21 Judges in the Circuit which is comprised of Peoria, Tazewell, Marshall, Putnam and Stark Counties.

The duties of the Chief Judge are mainly administrative in nature and include determining judicial courtroom assignments, hours of court, and supervision of court personnel.  The Chief Judge also serves on the Illinois Conference of Chief Judges which is designed to impart and implement statewide judicial policy in an even and consistent manner on the local level.

Gilfillan engaged in the private practice of Law for 24 years with the Law Firm of Quinn, Johnston, Henderson, Pretorius & Cerulo before being elected as Tazewell County's Resident Circuit Judge in 2006.  He was retained by the voters in the entire Tenth Circuit in 2012 and most recently in 2018 for an additional six year term as Circuit Judge.  He also maintains a separate felony court docket in Peoria County.

December 5, 2019





Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email